BUL FC to represent Uganda at CAF Confederations Cup

Bul FC from Jinja have won the 48th edition Stanbic Bank Uganda Cup, the 1st and a rarity in their history after a deserved win over Vipers in a thrilling final in Masindi.

BUL FC to represent Uganda at CAF Confederations Cup

By John Kusolo

Karim Ndugwa scored a brace to take his tally in the competition to 9 goals emerging the competition’s top scorer and Simon Peter Oketch to earn Bul FC a 3-1 victory over Uganda Premier League Champions Vipers SC. Vipers consolation goal was scored by Halid Lwaliwa. Besides, they received 50 million shs as prize money courtesy of the sponsors. As a result, Bul FC earned the right to represent Uganda later this year at the CAF Confederations cup the second-tier competition of African club football. The competition is played into two phases; the qualification phase and the main phase.

The competition begins with a preliminary round and then a first qualifying round played in a "trim-down" knock-out format with the away goals rule serving as tiebreakers. The sixteen teams eliminated from the first qualifying round of the CAF Champions League enter the second qualifying round of this competition, unless they are eliminated from there as well.

The sixteen winning teams from the second qualifying round enter the group stage to divided into four groups of four. Each team will play against the other three opponents in a round-robin system three points for a win. The group winners and runners-up qualify to a two-legged knock-out rounds which shall be played in two matches, home and away in three rounds (quarter-finals, semi-finals and the finals).

In case of equality in the number of goals scored during the two matches, the team scoring the greatest number of away goals will be declared winner. If the number of goals scored on the away matches is equal, kicks from the penalty mark will be taken.

In the round of 64, Bul FC got a walk over as Bundimasoli FC failed to show up. In the last 32, Bul FC overcame Busoga United 3-0.

At the last 16 stage, Bul FC drew 2-2 against Bright Stars and eventually overcame them 4-2 on penalties. In the quarterfinals against SC Villa, Bul FC were pushed until after extra time to win 2-1. In the semi-finals, they humbled Booma 6-1 on aggregate in a two legged affair qualifying for the final where they eventually emerged winners after their 3-1 truimph against Vipers SC .

Bul FC was founded on January 1st 2007. Below are the best players of the tournament and were awarded by the sponsors.Best Goal Keeper: Kalyoowa Emmanuel( Bul FC). Best Defender: Ochola Walter( Bul FC)- Bul FC conceded only 5 goals throughout the competition. Best Midfielder: Simon Peter Oketch( Bul FC)- Scored 4 goals and assisted 10 goals. Top Scorer: Karim Nduggwa(Bul FC)-9 goals.

Uganda Cup winners since 1971
1971 Coffee SC 2-1 Army
1972-1975 competition suspended
1976 Gangama United 0-0 Coffee SC (4-2 pen)
1977 Simba w/o Nytil FC
1978 Nsambya 1-0 UCB
1979 KCC w/o UCB
1980 KCC 2-0 Maroons
1981 Coffee SC 1-1 UCB (5-4 pen)
1982 KCC vs Nile (Nile walked off in 75' at 1-0; KCC winners)
1983 SC Villa 1-0 KCC
1984 KCC 3-2 Coffee SC
1985 Express 3-1 KCC
1986 SC Villa 2-0 Tobacco
1987 KCC 1-0 SC Villa
1988 SC Villa 3-1 Express
1989 SC Villa 4-2 Express
1990 KCC 3-0 SC Villa
1991 Express 4-1 Nile
1992 Express 1-0 Nile
1993 KCC 2-1 Dairy Heroes
1994 Express 0-0 KCC (4-3 pen)
1995 Express 2-0 Posta (aet)
1996 UEB 1-0 Nile
1997 Express 4-1 UEB
1998 Villa 2-0 Simba
1999 Dairy Heroes 0-0 Lyantonde FC (3-0 pen)
2000 Villa 1-0 Military Police
2001 Express 3-1 Villa
2002 Villa 2-1 Express
2003 Express 3-1 Police
2004 KCC 1-1 Express (aet, 3-2 pen)
2005 URA 2-1 KCC
2006 Express 2-0 Maji
2007 Express 0-0 KCC (aet, 4-2 pen)
2008 Victors 1-0 Kinyara
2009 Villa 2-1 URA
2010 Victors 1-1 Simba (aet, 5-4 pen)
2011 Simba 2-1 URA
2012 URA 1-0 Bunamwaya
2013 SCVU 1-1 Vipers (aet, 5-3 pen)
2014 URA 2-2 KCC (aet 4-2 pen)
2015 SC Villa 3-0 KCC
2016 Vipers SC 3-1 Onduparaka FC
2017 Paidha Black Angels FC 0-2 KCCA FC
2018 Vipers SC 0-1 KCCA FC
2019 Proline FC 1-1 Bright Stars FC (5-4 pen)